Squirrelicious Banana Bread

Note: this recipe contains no squirrels whatsoever.

Mmmmm, Banana Bread. I discovered this recipe a couple of years ago, when we had a glut of bananas (Waitrose used to bag up any loose bananas and sell them for something ridiculous like 50p for a huge bag so, skinflint that I am, I used to get in there early and buy as many as I could carry) and it very quickly became a staple. (Not like bread or vegetables, obviously, but I do like having cake in the house).

I can testify that the squirrels in my local park LOVE this. Beware if you are packing any in your picnic basket

Banana Bread

  • 285g flour
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 110g butter
  • 225g sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 85ml buttermilk (or normal milk mixed with 1 and a half tsp lemon juice or vinegar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4

Cream butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, mashed bananas, buttermilk and vanilla extract and mix thoroughly. Fold in the dry ingredients (flour, bicarb, salt and sugar).

Grease a loaf tin and pour the mixture into it. Bake for about an hour, or until well risen and golden brown.

Allow to cool before removing from tin and hide it from the squirrels 🙂

One response to “Squirrelicious Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Happy shiny week |

Leave a comment